Arizona provides for the use of medical marijuana as long as certain rules are followed. They include: What is the number of plants allowed?
Once you've registered with the state, you are allowed to purchase up to 2.5 ounces from state approved dispensaries, every 14 days.
If you live more than 25 miles from the nearest dispensary, you are allowed to cultivate up to 12 plants at the same time as long as they are grown and kept in a locked shelter. What are the medical conditions covered under the laws?
Conditions approved for Medical Marijuana use include but are not limited to:
What are the legal protections?
- Chron's Disease
- Alzheimer's Disease
- Severe and persistent muscle spasms, such as those from Multiple Sclerosis and chronic pain.
A statewide registry keeps track of those who have been issued Medical Marijuana cards so that you will not be charged as a criminal for possession or cultivation, as long as it is within the law. What is the registration process?
Registration in the state's database is mandatory. If you're caught in possession of Marijuana and you are not registered, you can be charged criminally even if you can prove that you have a qualifying medical condition.
You might be interested in: Online application process video What about out of state cards?
Arizona accepts Medical Marijuana cards from out of state, but the person cannot purchase from an Arizona dispensary. In other words, that person will have to bring medical marijuana with him when he enters the state.
Sharing your medically approved Marijuana or Medical Marijuana card with others could bring criminal charges.
You might be interested in: Providers Final thoughts:
While Arizona does allow for the use of Medical Marijuana, it is important to comply with the rules regarding registration, possession and cultivation as not doing so could cost you the right to use it.
Related: Town seeks Medical Marijuana Tax